Lodi Gardens

Standard
Shish Gumbad (front) & Bada Gumbad Mosque

Shish Gumbad (front) & Bada Gumbad Mosque

Lodi Gardens are a majestic sets of tombs spread across over 90 acres at heart of the city. Estimated to be from 14’th – 15’th century, today this park is equally popular among health enthusiasts and love birds. The Gardens offer nice lush green cover and are home to nearly a dozen species of birds and half a dozen species of butterfly.

You can also explore 4 heritage tombs, all of which have been declared protected monuments of national importance :
1. Tomb Of Sikandar Lodhi
2. Bada Gumbad Mosque
3. Shish Gumbad
4. Mohammed Shah Sayyid’s Tomb

Apart from above monuments you can also visit a glass house, a small mosque and a turret. Lodi garden dawns a herbal garden, rose garden and botanical garden as well.

You also have a beautiful lake occupied by fish and geese. This gives visitor’s a perfect spot to relax and get away from harsh city life (yeah I know you are in heart of Delhi). However if you have kids with you then take extra precautions while around geese as sometimes they tend to attack kids. Further it has been reported that kids have consumed geese droppings on a few occasions as well (Geese droppings reportedly has dangerous e-coli virus).

During mornings and evenings the open spaces are occupied for meditation & exercises. The moment you set your foot inside the gardens you will be greeted by chirps of birds and soft croons of wind blowing through the bamboo trees. With each step you walk and get deeper inside the garden premises, you will realize that the farther you have drifted away from unsettling city. This my friend is a true paradise for nature lovers. Personally I find Lodi Gardens as a perfect family picnic spot as long as you do not wish to play HIDE & SEEK.

Except for the lake, I would say that these gardens are well maintained and are a real treat to rejuvenate your senses. So go, take off your shoes and take a stroll.

I sure hope that you make your escape to Lodi gardens this weekend (and hey PARKING IS FREE!)

About TheItchyTraveller

There are things which don't easily sink in. Things I try to ignore but they just resurface again for answers. To me it is travel!. Till a few days ago I was working in a corporate with life bounded by routine materialistic ways. It seems all comfortable except for every now and then, when a question comes from inside "Is This Really What I Want To Do?". I have always had inclination to a few creative things like photography, graphic designing, writing (even though I am pathetic with spellings sometimes :( ) and I have always missed applying more of these passions to my life. But when circumstances take a U TURN, suddenly I had to reshuffle my commitments and I am now with more time to spend at home with family rather than work. This reshuffling no matter how unwelcomed have given me a food of thought and window of opportunity to practice what I loved to do. Thus came this idea of my blog "Romancing Delhi", a blog dedicated to my city and a window to tell world what Delhi has to offer. So here I am trying to reflect my city in my words & photographs. Enjoy and stay hooked !!

Leave a Reply

