10 Fun Facts About Delhites

Standard

Delhifunfacts

# Fact 1 : Majority of us do not know about driving etiquettes and the minority which knows about it does not believe in following it.

# Fact 2 : Cutting Tea (a cup divided into two). It is not about how fat your wallet is, when at a tea stall then you always bond with friends by asking “Ek bata Do”.

# Fact 3 : You can pee in public however it is kissing which is prohibited.

# Fact 4 : We do not need a neighbourhood watch group, our neighbors are watchful enough and better broadcasters than BBC.

# Fact 5 : We have a lot of respect for traffic cops so we call them mamu and if they catch you breaking rules then they are always courteous enough to return the favour (if you know what I mean ).

# Fact 6 : When we drive we are egoistic enough not to ask for directions and when someone asks for directions then we are egoistic enough to admit we don’t know the destination. So we will always tell you where to go despite ourself not knowing where it leads to.

# Fact 7 : For women, no shopping experience is complete without a bargain. So be it discount on gold jewellery or coming back with prized free hara dhaniya and hari mirch with vegetable they always bag something EXTRA.

# Fact 8 : The historical monuments are beautiful and any lovebirds visiting them ensures marking their entry on it’s wall.

# Fact 9 : Social stature is more about jugaads than anything else. We have a strong belief on “Why to use your resource when you have a backup jugaad (connection). So a cricket match, concert, admission in school, even movie tickets – jugaad hai na bhai!.

# Fact 10 : Punjabi language has strong roots in our daily dialect, maa ki ****, bhen ki ### are most commonly used.

About TheItchyTraveller

There are things which don't easily sink in. Things I try to ignore but they just resurface again for answers. To me it is travel!. Till a few days ago I was working in a corporate with life bounded by routine materialistic ways. It seems all comfortable except for every now and then, when a question comes from inside "Is This Really What I Want To Do?". I have always had inclination to a few creative things like photography, graphic designing, writing (even though I am pathetic with spellings sometimes :( ) and I have always missed applying more of these passions to my life. But when circumstances take a U TURN, suddenly I had to reshuffle my commitments and I am now with more time to spend at home with family rather than work. This reshuffling no matter how unwelcomed have given me a food of thought and window of opportunity to practice what I loved to do. Thus came this idea of my blog "Romancing Delhi", a blog dedicated to my city and a window to tell world what Delhi has to offer. So here I am trying to reflect my city in my words & photographs. Enjoy and stay hooked !!

Leave a Reply

